DRIVE Review

Release date: September 16, 2011
Genre:  Action / Drama

Summary: A Hollywood stunt performer who moonlights as a wheelman discovers that a contract has been put on him after a heist gone wrong.

My Review: First off, this is not your average mainstream movie, so if your looking for a Transporter-type car flick then your looking in the wrong direction. I keep saying this but no one is listening; people are running out of ideas for movies, therefore, are basing them on books.

Drive is based on the book by James Sallis, and stars Ryan Gosling, Carey Mulligan and Bryan Cranston. It is directed by Nicolas Winding Refn, who is known for his graphic and intense movies such as the Pusher trilogy, Bronson and Valhalla Rising. Personally, I have no idea who he is but after Drive I’m sure he’ll be well-credited (Oscar?).

The start of the movie was like a live version of GTA Vice City. The movie had an 80’s feel, the music, the style, even the damn jacket, it was all 80’s inspired which was nice to see. I usually hate slow paced movies, but the acting was on point and it wasn’t too long to lose your interest. It is visually captivating and if you appreciate art, you will appreciate this movie – maybe not the graphic, bloody scenes (RedRum?). With that said, there is not a lot of talking in the movie, which might bore some people but I thought it was creatively done enough to keep me interested. And the way Ryan Gosling portrays the character…oh where art thou Oscar. He was completely transformed and said maybe 5 words yet you could understand all the character’s emotions and thoughts. I loved his performance and I absolutely adore Carey Mulligan, she never fails me. Even though their relationship was short-lived, the chemistry between the two was promising and gave that romantic push to the quiet movie.

My highlight of the movie: one of the best, realistically done, car chases I have seen in a while. I’m pretty sure I held my breath during that car chase after the pawn shop robbery.

It ended on a vague note, but it kept the audience wondering and interpreting what will happen next.

It is in art that we ignite our imagination and this is what I loved about this movie, 9/10

4 thoughts on “DRIVE Review

    1. LOL you know what, I watched this movie without watching the trailer, and I just recently saw the trailer and it’s totally different from what it portrays to be +_O

Leave a Reply

