Bunraku Review


Release date: September 2011 (USA)
Genre: Drama, Action, Fantasy
Summary: The story of a a young man who has spent his life searching for revenge only to find himself up against a bigger challenge than he originally bargained for.

My Review: Written and directed by Guy Moshe, who doesn’t really have any credentials, this movie stars Josh Hartnett, Demi Moore, Woody Harrelson and Ron Perlman. The term Bunraku comes from an old form of Japanese puppet theater which uses 4 foot tall puppets. From the beginning, it had an exaggerated, comic feel to it. It kind of reminded me of Kill Bill (or Sin City) meets the cartoon Batman *KAPOW*.

My first impression of the movie was that it was as if I were watching a real life comic book. Even the subtitles had that comic book effect so i had my fingers crossed and hoped this movie would turn out okay. But I don’t think this movie is for everyone. It’s like the director went wild with expressing his imagination clashing Samurai with Western genres and that might not impress everyone. It’s a little, no I mean really slow-paced, and for a 2 hour movie, the story is dragged and takes awhile to get going. It lacks a strong plot, so it’s kind of wishy washy but it’s supposed to reflect it’s title and represent a puppet show in some way. I took it like I was part of the audience all of it happen on a stage because that’s what it looked like.

This is not my cup of tea, and normally I would disregard this movie as having any good qualities but I did admire the artistic feel to it but it was way too long and that’s what killed the movie for me.

A movie I can never watch twice, I rate Bunraku 6/10

Leave a Reply

