Captain America: The First Avenger Review


I think I’m part of the minority who think this movie was not all that. It was actually, how should I put this… cheesy?

This movie doesn’t need any introductions, just another Marvel comic book coming to life.

I used to have boxes and boxes of DC & Marvel comic books in my garage, unfortunately, I never got through them all. Even though I remember seeing a couple of copies, I was never interested in Captain America. I was more into reading X-men which I also watched in cartoon form growing up. Regardless, I love superhero/comic-book-based movies but Captain America was a disappointment. Actually I didn’t even want to see it. I’m more excited for the Avengers, and well I watched it only because I thought it would make sense to at least watch this one prior.

As for my comments: Tommy Lee Jones was pretty good in the movie, I think he has the same style in the majority of his movies (which I enjoy). And it was nice seeing Tony aka IronMan’s dad in the movie, if you didn’t pick up on that then I don’t know what planet you’re from. It was interesting seeing Chris Evans look so small and skinny before shooting him up with some chemicals and revealing his actual size/body. I wasn’t too pleased with the effects, couple of explosions, jumping on a speeding train like it was easy sailing, it wasn’t anything special. And just like Transformers, this movie is another -hey let’s glorify being an American soldier.

Besides the whole cheesiness of the movie, it was ok but does not compare to the other superhero movies that you will find crossed over to the Avengers. The first time I saw Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury was at the end of Iron Man, so obviously I knew the Avengers was in the works. And then again we see Mr. Iron Man in the Incredible Hulk & Nick Fury in Thor so waiting for at least an Avengers trailer was like torture.

I watched Captain America, so now I’m ready to watch Avengers (can I get a sneak peak?). Nothing exciting for me, this movie gets a 6/10 from me.

Leave a Reply

