Rise of the Planet of the Apes Review

This movie was great, but before I watched it,  I thought it was a prequel so I was questioning it throughout the movie. But, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is supposedly meant to be a ‘reboot’ to the story of Planet of the Apes. There’s a total of 5 Planet of the Apes movies, and one remake (the one with Mark Walhberg) and this ‘reboot’ which was released this year. ‘Reboot’ means to disregard all the other movies because this one is basically just taking the ideas and possibly starting a new series – RESTART LET’S DO IT AGAIN. I wish I knew that before watching, because I kept thinking ok, if this is the prequel, how did they get to the other planet? And then I even thought that the launch to space in the news was one way they got there. And how will their look change (notice the original apes look more human)? Silly, sily, me +_O

I don’t know if everybody has seen the original 1968 film (I’ve only seen the first) but it takes place in the future and its about an astronaut crew who crash-landed on a planet and on this planet, the astronauts find a society of apes which have evolved into human-like creatures, which speak and behave like humans. The roles are reversed in this society, the apes are the dominant species and the humans are the animals. The following two movies, Beneath the Planet of the Apes & Escape from the Planet of the Apes, are kind of like continuations of the first one, but the 4th movie Conquest of the Planet of the Apes takes place several years after and revolves around the story of the mistreatment of apes, who have now taken the place of household pets. The 4th movie is probably the closest to the most recent movie because it takes place on Earth, and has a similar plot where the apes rise against their humans. The fifth movie of the original series, Battle for the Planet of the Apes, continues the story of the revolution but a decade later with humans and apes battling against each other (and in the end they all coexist happily ever after).

For this reboot, like I said, it’s closest to movie #4, I won’t go into too much detail but it takes place in San Francisco at a science lab where they are testing viruses on chimpanzees in search of a cure for Alzheimer’s disease. The virus effects the chimpanzees by increasing their level of intelligence. One of the test subjects, goes on a rampage and is killed after disrupting a board meeting.  The chimpanzee had secretly given birth and is found by one of the scientists, and after that ordeal, all the chimpanzees were ordered to be killed, so the scientist took the baby chimp home. The baby chimp had inherited his mother’s intelligence and he grows and eventually starts the rise of the apes.

Overall, I like the Planet of the Apes movies and idea, which came from a French novel, but for the latest movie, does this movie really do it any justice? I have to admit Rise of the Planet of the Apes was pretty good. I wasn’t too keen on the cast, it starred James Franco, Freida Pinto and John Lithgow, but the visual effects made up for that. For me, the movie doesn’t have the same quality or substance of the original. It’s just decorated with fancy visual effects and the main story line I would say is “animal testing is bad”.

If you’ve never seen Planet of the Apes (maybe the new generation) then you don’t know what your missing! But this movie would also make more sense to you, then it did to me…With the series aside, this movie was a good action movie, perfect for the “summer movies” genre, and I rate it 8/10.

 

2 thoughts on “Rise of the Planet of the Apes Review

  1. I agree completely. I was expecting something alot more like the original, and while I was disappointed, it was still a good movie.

  2. My girlfriend and I were so disappointed we walked out less than halfway through, and asked for, and got our money back. Way too much reliance on computers, and not nearly as good as any of the 5 from the original series.

Leave a Reply

