Melissa & Joey

It’s summer, which means most good tv shows are on break until September. With nothing good to watch, I usually browse to see if there are any new shows worth watching. So, I stumbled on ‘Melissa & Joey’. I’m quite familiar with the two actors, I grew up watching Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Blossom, and Brotherly Love. The show first aired last August and has been renewed for another season. The show follows politician Melissa Burke and Joe Longo, who Mel hires to look after her niece and nephew. Their parents were in a money scandal, with their dad on the run and their mom in jail, their Aunt Mel is now their guardian. Mel hired Joe as the nanny after he became broke from the scandal.

Melissa & Joey is the latest show listed in ABC Family’s schedule. Apparently there was a TV movie version (2009), that was successful enough for the network to decide on developing a sitcom with the two actors.

The series is lighthearted, carefree, and surprisingly enjoyable.  It has a Family Matters/Step by Step feel but it’s been adapted to today’s time, so it kind of gives a nostalgic feel, well for me anyway. I was surprised by Melissa’s acting, it was much more skilled then when she was a teenager..I guess she’s a veteran now 😛 I’ve had a couple of laugh-out-loud moments, but I wouldn’t say this would replace my favorite comedy series, Modern Family.

Leave a Reply

