Monopolies…how irritating

Last night I wanted to use my internet, sounds reasonable right, but to my dismay it worked for a hot minute and then stopped working. I did what I’m usually told to do, turn off the router, turn off the elife router thing, went to the kitchen while I waited, came back munching on some chocolate covered almonds, and turned everything back on…

Still didnt work, so I called etisalat..they told  me there was nothing wrong with my account and to do what I had already done…so I did it again…still not working..

What did I get out of this experience: 2am is the best time to call cos they answer right away …

When I switched to Elife, Etisalat’s newest internet service using fiber-optics, I was really hesitant to do the switch. I even told the Etisalat guy I don’t trust you guys, it’s a monopoly so there’s no trust in the game…and he said don’t worry this is better then what you have now..so after an hour of discussing and being reassured that this is a great service and I wont have any problems with it (at that point i felt like i was one of those annoying people that ask too many questions) i did the switch..

I hate the fact that I have no other option of switching to another internet service provider.

Monopolies are really frustrating cos it’s like you have no choice, you either take it or leave it… Thing is, monopolies can cause a dissatisfaction of consumers. Hello! That’s me! Because there is only one provider or producer (Etisalat), the customers have no choices and they are coerced to buy their product/service. They also have the option to increase prices (there is a legal  limitation though). Because there is only one company that can provide or produce the product, the company can set its prices to make the highest profit. And another thing, there is no competition so the quality of service doesn’t necessarily have to be the highest quality.

While I was looking into the legality of monopolies (maybe I can change the internet world here), I found this interesting article on “6 Secret Monopolies You Didnt Know Run the World”. It briefly discusses how you think you are given options in the market when selecting items such as cereals or sunglasses, but in fact those different options/brands are all under one big head. For example, there are hundreds of different brands of sunglasses, but “all of those are made by one manufacturer — Luxottica. Starting off as a tiny Italian glasses company, Luxottica caught the 1980s fever (see Wall Street) and started buying every glasses-related company it could get its hands on, as well as talking pretty much every fashion designer into letting them make their sunglasses line.”

What about MACs vs PCs? “Not only are the laptops you’re arguing about both put together in Taiwan, but very likely even by the same company. Taiwan’s Quanta Computer makes 33 percent of all laptops in the world, including Dells, HPs, Sonys, Toshibas and yes, Macs.”

Click here to see the full article.

Interesting… I’ve come across many articles stating how companies may not be monopolies but are sure acting like it..A monopoly occurs when there is no competition, well if companies beat out the competition not giving them room to breathe then its behaving in a monopolistic way. Its like the game Monopoly, your trying to dominate the real estate industry, the key is to buy as many houses as possible (Park Place & Boardwalk alone can get you far in the game), eventually the other players become bankrupt and then only one winner stands…and this is why they call it Monopoly

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

