Art of the Steal

A 2009 documentary on the management and future of the Barnes Foundation, I don’t know why it took me so long to watch it. I was unfamiliar with the story prior to watching the documentary, I just knew it had to do with art. While I was watching it I felt so moved with Dr. Barnes’ collection and his passion for art. His only wish was to keep his 25 billion dollar + art collection in its spot, as he had left it, and for educational purposes only. To see the story unfold and find that Dr. Barnes’ will was no longer relevant, and basically trampled on, you begin to question the legal system and sense a bit of political corruption and abuse.

This documentary is not only about art. It clearly shows that one man’s possession was taken advantage of and his wishes which were legally bound were disregarded. It is worth the watch. I give it two thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

